The Ministry of Women & Child Development - National Awards - Stree Shakti Puruskar

As a measure of recognition of achievements in individual women in the field of social development, the Government of India has instituted of 6 National Awards, which are called "Stree Shakti Puruskar". These awards are in the name of the following eminent women personalities in the Indian history, who are famous for their personal courage and integrity:-


·        Devi Ahilya Bai

·        Holkar Kannagi

·        Mata Jajabai Rani

·        Gaidinliu Zeliang

·        Rani Lakshmi Bai

·        Rani Rudramme Devi (for both men & Women)


The first five awards are given to women who have done work in any of the following areas.


1.     Support and rehabilitation of women and children in especially difficult circumstances like destitute women and children, widows, victims of atrocities and conflicts disabled women and children, aged women etc.


2.     Education and training


3.     Promoting self help groups


4.     Support to women in agriculture and rural industry including promotion of technology to reduce drudgery.


5.     Environment protection


6.     Empowerment of Women for community and political participation:


7.     Health, including though propagation of indigenous systems of medicine, and creating awareness and consciousness on women's issues though the arts, media (including electronic and mass media), community based programmes etc


One of the awards in given towards recognition of personal achievements by women in difficult circumstances.


Government of India has also added another sub-category of Stree Shakti Puruskar, in the name of Rani Rudramma Devi, which will be awarded to individual men or women for their outstanding administrative skill leadership quality and courage.


Each of the above awards carries a cash prize of Rs 3 Lakh and citation.


Mode of calling for nominations for the awards.


The Ministry of Women and Child Development invites the nominations for the awards from NGO, Women Development Corporations, National and State level Commissions for Women etc. through the State Governments and Union Territory Administration.


Each State Government is asked to set up its own Screening Committee which would include representation from the State Commissions for women.


If available, State Social Welfare Advisory Boards, Secretary dealing with Welfare of Women and 2-3 eminent NGOs who are working on this area. This Screening Committee will invite nominations and other screening, send short-listed 6 nominations to the MWCD. The Screening Committee may be headed by Minister dealing with welfare of women Each State Government is asked to send six nominations in the prescribed format.


Selection Process


The Nominations received are screened by a national level Selection Committee headed by Minister of Women & Child Development comprising of the following members: Secretary (WCD), Member Chairperson, NCW, Member Chairperson, CSWB, Member Secretary or his nominee from M/O Social Justice & Empowerment, Member Secretary or his nominee from M/o Rural Development, Member National level eminent NGOs / individuals as co-opted, Members JS (WD) Member-Secretary.


The National Selection Committee may at its discretion also consider individuals other than those recommended by the State Governments.


Criteria for Selection


1.     The nominee should be alive on the date of nomination

2.     The nominee should have been working in the relevant filed for at last five years.

3.     The achievement of the nominee in the relevant field should be clearly documented.

4.     The achievement of the nominee should be verified and subjected to objective appraisals.

5.     Preference should be given to women/men who have come up in life after a great deal of struggle and adversity.


These awards are generally presented in New Delhi on the occasion of International Women's Day Celebration i.e. 8th March.


The Award are received personally by the awardees. The Ministry of Women and Child Development will pay the awardees expenditure involved in travelling and daily allowance as per rules.


Application Form




1.     Name

2.     Date of birth (duly attested)

3.     Place of birth

4.     Educational Qualifications (with certificates, if applicable)

5.     Telephone No.

6.     Present Address.

7.     Field of Achievement:

8.     How is the performance of the Individual adjudged as exceptional achievement:

9.     A brief life – sketch of the individual including press clippings/certificates etc.

10.Sponsored by (Government other agencies etc. with details):

11.Remarks of the State Govt. /UT Admn.

The NGO Funding Consultant




Keywords – NGO Consultants, NGO funding sources, india ministry, awards, women and child development, grant in action, ngofund, ngoblog, ngowebsite, ngocom, ngoconsultantcom, ngoconsultant, ngoconsulting, ngoconsultingservices, developmentjobs, development job vacancy, proposal writer, NGO Resources, NGO CafĂ©, FC Fund for NGO, Foreign Funding to Indian, British, African, 35ac registration, rural ngo fund, india fcra projects, educational health trust, American, Muslim, Christian, Charity and Trust, nonprofits, funding for ngos, fundforngo, funds for ngo, grants for ngos, grants for nonprofits, international ngos, international development, developing countries, call for proposals, call for applications, how to, ngo guides, human rights, climate change, livelihood, poverty, youths, community health, how to write proposal, nominations, worldbank, microfinance, UN, UNFPA, USAID, AUSAID, CIDA,

|||||| SKF Finance Centre Links ||||||